Brandon Robinson

Brandon Robinson is a sports and entertainment writer. Follow him on twitter @ScoopB.

    0 1118

    unnamed (4)

    Layla Hendryx burst onto the scene in 2015 with her EP release “Channel 6” and immediately established her self as an artist to watch. Her genre blending sound infusing elements of hip hop, R&B and trap caught the attention of fans and critics alike. Her single “B.T.W” was featured on episode 4 of OVO Sound Radio and quickly became a fan favorite off the project, while her music caught the attention of taste making publications such as; The Fader, Complex Music and Vice /Noisey among others.

    Joining forces with Toronto based label DND Music Group, Layla has returned with an 11 track new project called “Out Of Time”. Evolving on the sound established with “Channel 6”, “Out Of Time” touches on more personal subject matter. Premiering on The Fader, the project is now available on Layla’s SoundCloud page.  “Out Of Time”  is an introspective look at the 20 year old artist as she deals with life events and makes her way through the industry. With new videos coming very soon, Layla is looking to make some huge moves in 2016.

    0 1571

    unnamed (6)

    Hailing from NYC by way of Trinidad and Tobago, Charisse Mills has been making major waves in the past 12 months.

    After appearing on Ne-Yo’s latest album Non-Fiction, the singer-songwriter went on to collaborate with French Montana on her new single “Champagne.” Catching fire in the U.S. and internationally, Mills recently Iceland Films’s own Usef Nait direct the music video, which was premiered via Vibe as well as added to rotation on MTV, BET Jams and Trace TV, one of Europe and Africa’s biggest music television platforms.

    Trinidad meets Morocco as the big budget visual finds Mills and Montana immersed in a fantasy world steeped in a middle eastern aesthetic. Keep an eye out for Charisse Mills as she is currently prepping for tour in the U.S. and internationally.


      0 1202


      Longtime collaborators Smokey Da Bandit and Sauve Da Lyricist return with the visual for their new single titled “Goin Down,” which is lifted from their 2nd project titled “From The Low 2 Da Town 2.” The track is produced by Koto and video directed by P. Noble. 



        0 1126


        Hailing from Toronto by way of Nigeria, SLEEK returns with the visual for his brand single titled “Proceed With Caution.”

        The track will live on his forthcoming EP “Proceed With Caution,” Which is due for release later this year. SLEEK describes what it is like living in a high risk community, losing friends & family. With his undisturbed mindset and well composed speech, he laces the Danny Snow of Sunset6 produced cut. 


          0 1612


          With the new year in full swing, Brooklyn’s own Phresher continues to separate himself from the pack. Last year saw the newcomer have his visual for “On The Low” added to rotation on BET Jams, gain significant national radio airplay, performed at some of the most high profile venues while also maintaining a very strong presence on the web.

          Last week, Phresher revealed his brand new cut titled “PHoolio,” produced by We The Best’s Reazy Renegade. On the track, Phresher showcases his acrobatic flow meshed perfectly with the bouncy instrumental. Today, he returns with the with the accompanying visual, which finds him galavanting throughout the streets of New York City, displaying his trademark charisma in the zany visual.


            0 2008


            New Jersey native Cito is back with yet another banger for the ladies called “Girlfriend.”  Cito mixes his trippy production style along with his dope beats to give his fans quality music time and time again.  This is the first single off of his forthcoming project “T.R.A.P” (The Real Always Progress), which is set to be released sometime in 2016.  Check out Cito’s latest single below and make sure to cop it.





              0 1981


              Washington D.C.-bred, Rapper /Producer Fong-Sai-U presents FANTASY FEAT RAHEEM DEVAUGHN. This track comes on the heels of “Enough” (listen), featuring Wu-Tang affiliate Prodigal Sunn, which will appear on The Last Ronin, his forthcoming album dropping SOON on Soulspazm. 

              “Enough” comes on the heels of the release of his last single “Time’s Up” (listen). Fong’s last album was Ballads Of A Massacre, featuring the late Guru of Gang Starr, Dice Raw and Black Thought and Res . Videos have been dropped for BOAM singles “Jack Sparrow” (watch) and “Bad Guy” (watch). An underground hip-hop veteran, Fong has collaborated with Black Thought (click to stream “I Own This Microphone”) who was an early mentor to Fong and took him on tour with The Roots. Fong also produced a song for Guru of Gang Starr on his solo album Bald Head Slick under his 5% name Divine (click to stream “O.G. Talk”). 


                0 1706


                What has two thumbs and just released one of the waviest videos of all mankind? This guy! Recently ranked Top 10 in CMJ’s Hip Hop Charts, Marc Payne gathered up his crew to bring you the single “This Guy” produced by Lil Brudda. Shot by Tyler Effect in “The Don’s”, the set is located less than a mile away from where the legendary “Training Day” was filmed in Los Angeles. Edited by Mr. Awake, the cinematic Noir is as if PainPayne just experimented with psychedelics to find his “Pleasure N’ Payne.” Who just had an acid trip? This Guy.



                0 2269

                Bar Wars

                With the new Star Wars film hitting theaters and captivating the world, Buffalo, NY flame-spitter Lucky Seven decides to take a call to action. Inspired by the classic film series, Lucky Seven serves up lyrical bar work on his brand new project “Bar Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Rap.” The 10 track set features contributions from Braden Blair, James “Heff” lounge, Kris Ernst and more. 

                Check It Out 


                Celebrity News

                0 1870
                Vin Rock of the legendary hip hop group Naughty By Nature joined the Brown and scoop Podcast to co-host this week's show. Uncle Vin talked...


                0 1164
                East Orange, NJ native, Drift has a new visual up for display. Be Real, his latest project, features his twin sister, Nina Bobby and...


                0 2654
                DJ Envy and his sneaker connect Angel review the Air Jordan 5 White/Metallic, the Air Jordan 5 Hornets and the Air Jordan 5 Space...


                0 2167
                After 20 season that included 5 Championships and 17 All Star game appearances as a member of the Los Angeles Lakers, Kobe Bryant announced that...